South Dakota State ‘A’ Tournament

legion teams

2014 State Tournament Results from Huron:

*Day 1 – July 30th*

Game 1:
Yankton 11 vs Brookings 1
WP: Austin Johnson (6 IP)
LP: Corey Roach
HR: None

Game 2:
Pierre 2 vs Sioux Falls West 12
WP: Stuart Baruth (7 IP/3 H/1 BB/10 K)
LP: Isaac Grode (6 IP/8 H/4 BB/1 K)
HR: Alex Linneman (SFW)
-Sam Lang had 3 hits, including a double and triple while Alex Linneman hit a Grand Slam. Kyle Schroeder and Seth Bjordal also added 2 hits. For Pierre, Alex Gray drove in the lone run.

Game 3:
Watertown 5 vs Rapid City Hardhats 18
WP: Cody Carlson (4.1 IP/2 H/1 BB/5 K)
LP: Connor Fransen (2 IP)
HR: None
– Connor Merriam had 4 hits, while Carter Wevik, Tanner Simons and Matt Minnick collected 3 hits apiece. For Watertown, Brody Ries and Logan Gabriel each had 2 hits.

Game 4:
Brandon Valley 7 vs Huron 1
WP: Luke Bauske (7.2 IP/3 H/3BB/6 K)
LP: Cole Peterson (6 IP/4 H/7 BB/6 K)
S: Mitch Hoover
HR: Jacob Adams (BV)
-Adams had a double and homerun for BV, while Robish had lone double for Huron.

*Day 2 – July 31st*

Game 5:
Watertown 7 vs Brookings 8 (13 innings)
*Watertown Eliminated*
WP: Jared Tschetter
LP: Connor Fransen
HR: Trevor Jutting (WTR)
-Tschetter pitched the final 6 innings for Brookings and also collected 4 hits on the day. Thomas McMacken added 3 hits, including a 2-run Double. Corey and Carter Roach each had 3 hits, including Carter’s walk off single. For Watertown, Eric Gauer had 3 hits while Logan Gabriel and Cole Julius each added a pair of hits. Ben Holter started on the mound for Watertown while Kyle Krogman was the starting pitcher for the Bandits. Watertown’s season is ended with a very strong 31-16 record.

Game 6:
Huron 3 vs Pierre 8
*Huron eliminated*
WP: Tyson O’Daniel (5.2 IP/9 K)
LP: Tristan Hamilton (4 IP)
HR: None
-For Pierre, Justin Berheim had three hits. Huron collected 3 hits from Deon Waddle and a pair of hits from Tristan Hamilton. Huron ends their season with a 26-22 record.

Game 7:
Rapid City 6 vs Yankton 4
WP: Ty Daly
LP: Colin Muth
HR: Matt Vickers (RC22)
-For Rapid City, Matt Minnick, Vickers and Connor Merriam each had 2 hits. For Yankton, Mitch Gullickson had 3 hits and Lane Sawatzke had 2.

Game 8:
Sioux Falls West 3 vs Brandon Valley 4
WP: Nick Peterson (8 IP/9K)
LP: Chandlar Austin
HR: None
-For West, Bjordal had a double. For Brandon Valley, Lucas Lunstra had two hits including a double.

*Day 3 – August 1st*

 Game 9:
Pierre 5 vs Yankton 7
*Pierre Eliminated* 6th Place
WP: Tanner Termansen (9 IP/10 H/3 K)
LP: Cooper Walton
HR: Colin Muth
– For Pierre, Alex Gray and Justin Berheim each had two hits. Yankton’s Brad Ulmer had 2 hits and Colin Muth added a go ahead 3 run homer.

Game 10:
Brookings 11 vs Sioux Falls West 6
*Sioux Falls West Eliminated* 5th Place
WP: Garret Jeppesen
LP: Austin Serck
-For Brookings, Corey Roach and Thomas McMacken each had 3 hits. For West, Bjordal, Kautz and Holzer each had two hits.

Game 11:
Brandon Valley 2 vs Rapid City 3 (11 innings)
WP: Cody Carlson
LP: Levi McKercher
-For BV, Alec Finch had 2 hits. For Post 22, Minnick and Solano each had 2 hits, with Solano hitting a walk-off double.

*Day 4 – August 2nd*

Game 12:
Brandon Valley 5 vs Yankton 13

Game 13:
Rapid City 11 vs Brookings 1

Game 14: Championship Game
Rapid City 8 vs Yankton 1

 Rapid City wins their 39th State Title and advanced to Central Plains Regional in Fargo, ND.
Matt Minnick wins Legion Player of the Year Award
Jared Tschetter claims Big Stick Award honors with a .714 average.
Yankton is named recipient of the 2014 Sportsmanship Award


(unofficial) 2014 State Tournament Bracket

Click to view past State Champions

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s